In Englisheng
Adopt a Project
Press Releases
News Archive
Latest Videos
Search News

Search in:
NEWS Press Releases Yerevan Conservatory Best Student 2013
Yerevan Conservatory Best Student 2013
The Hayastan All-Armenian Fund has awarded Pianist Jora Sargsyan, a second-year student of instrumental performance at Yerevan State Conservatory, the Hrair and Martha Albarian 2013 Student of the Year Scholarship. The accomplished musician received the prize, which includes a Certificate of Achievement and a monetary award equivalent to US $500, during a ceremony at the offices of the Hayastan All-Armenian Fund in Yerevan on February 27.

Sargsyan is the second-prize winner of the 2011 Aram Khachaturian International Competition, first-place winner of the 2011 Arno Babajanyan International Competition, and Grand Prix winner of the 2008 FLAME International Classical Music Competition. He has also participated in the 2011 International Bach Festival and performed a solo concert in Salzburg in 2008.

Commenting on being named the 2013 Student of the Year, Sargsyan said, "This was a big surprise for me, and the timing was great, as the monetary award will help me continue my studies in Germany." The young musician added that the prize marks the second time he has participated in a cultural project of the Hayastan All-Armenian Fund, the first being his performace at a 2012 benefit concert in London, organized by the fund's British affiliate. As he conveyed his gratitude to the fund and the Albarian family, Sargsyan expressed his wish to continue contributing his talent to benefit concerts in the future.

The Student of the Year Scholarship was established in 2009 by Argentinean-Armenian benefactors Mr. and Mrs. Hrair and Martha Albarian to encourage outstanding academic performance at Yerevan State Conservatory. The prize comprises a Certificae of Achievement and a monetary award equivalent to US $500. Winners are selected by the benefactors, from a pool of candidates nominated by the prize committee of the conservatory. Past winners include violinist Mary Khojayan (2009), saxophonist David Melkonyan (2010), violinist Anna Margaryan (2011), vocalist Arsen Stepanyan (2012), and cellist Hayk Sukiassyan (2013).
download Western Armenian version
 169 KB

Other News:

Story about Tchaikovsky Music School

Europe’s Armenians raise 1.23 million euros in run-up to Armenia Fund Telethon

Armenians of Brasil donated $48000 to the Telethon

Minibus is donated to Children’s Home of Gyumri

Armenians of Canada donated $530000 to the Telethon

Twenty computers donated to the College of Informatics in Yerevan

American elected officials appeal for support of Hayastan All Armenian Fund Telethon

With 700,000 donors worldwide, Hayastan All-Armenian Fund is among organizations most trusted by supporters

Driver Aram. "During these 25 years I was not only a driver, but also a photographer, a project manager and so on..."

Constructing One School, Furnishing Two In Kashatagh Region, Artsakh

designed and developed in