President of the General Council of Hauts-de Seine Province Patrik Devejian was hosted by the Hayastan All-Armenian Fund’s Executive Board
Posted on May 21, 2010
Today at 12:00, the Executive Director of the Hayastan All-Armenian Fund Ara Vardanyan hosted Mr. Patrik Devejian, president of the General Council of Hauts-de-Seine (a district bordering Paris) and minister of France’s Economic Recovery Plan;

For two years now the Hayastan All-Armenian Fund’s French affiliate cooperates with the French Province of Hauts-de Seine. With the grant of 500 000 Euros allocated to the Fund by the province a number of agricultural development projects has been carried out in six communities of Tavush Province of Armenia - Azatamut, Aknaghbyur, Lusahovit, Lusadzor, Khashtarak, and Ditavan. Within this grant, the old Khashtarak-Lusahovit-Ditavan irrigation pipeline was rebuilt and extended by 500 meters, enabling it to provide ample irrigation for 600 hectares of land across the three communities. It is now renamed Armenian-French Friendship Canal. At the same time in the beneficiary communities were provided with seeds and seedlings.

Considering the importance of the social-economic development of Armenia, Mr. Devejian informed that henceforth the Province Hauts-de Seine will allocate 500 000 Euros to Armenia annually for implementation of various agricultural initiatives.

“Due to the cooperation of the Hayastan Fund and the Province of Hauts-de Seine, different organizations have already expressed their willingness to collaborate with the Hayastan Fund”, said the Executive Director of the Fund Ara Vardanyan in his opening address.

Currently, the local committee of France together with the authorities of the Hauts de-Seine Province is discussing the possibilities of expanding the development and support initiatives for the rural communities of Tavush Province. These projects are aimed at promotion of the economic development of the communities which will provide the farmers with stable income and prevent the emigration from the Armenian provinces.